Databases

Databases by Subject

Books, Arts & Literature | Business & Government | D.I.Y. & Hobbies | Employment Resources & Adult Learning | Genealogy | Health | History & Biography | Magazines & Newspapers | Reference & Research | Science | Students & Homework | Complete A-Z List of Databases

Books, Arts & Literature

About Books
Find read-a-likes, author biographies, plot summaries, specific settings and genres, series information, book reviews, and more!

American & English Literature
Access complete text of many works of poetry, drama, religious texts, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print.

EBSCOHost EBooks  
Access many ebooks online for research and pleasure.

Literary Reference Center               
Gives access to literary journals, reference works, poems, short stories, book discussion help, and more.

Novelist K-8 Plus
A resource to help kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests. Parents, teachers, and librarians can also use tools to teach with books and engage young readers.

Novelist Plus
Find your next book with specific author, title, and series recommendations, book genre lists, articles, and more.

Ohio Digital Library
Borrow fiction and non-fiction eBooks, audiobooks, movies, and music for all ages.

Religion and Philosophy Collection 
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

U.S. Government Printing Office
The Federal Government’s online resource for the official information products of the U.S. Government. Use to download free U.S. Government ebooks.

Business & Government

A to Z Databases
Ideal for sales leads mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and accessing addresses and phone numbers.

Business Source Premier  
Find full articles from popular and scholarly business periodicals, company and market research, and daily updated business news.

Explore Ohio
Use this ever-expanding directory of Ohio-specific websites by category or by county for your research.

Gale Legal Forms <
Access downloadable and sample legal forms for a variety of categories, as well as an attorney directory, tax forms, and a law digest.

Morningstar
A reliable online research center for independent investment analysis for investors in stocks and funds.

Ohio.Gov: Government Information & Services
The official website for the state of Ohio. Find government services and information for residents, businesses, visitors, and state employees.

Regional Business News
Access articles from business journals, newspapers, and newswires, covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

D.I.Y. & Hobbies

Chilton Library
Access to interactive repair, maintenance, and service information on seven decades of cars, trucks, vans and SUVs.

Computer Source
Find the latest information and current trends in high technology from over 450 publications.

EBSCOHost EBooks 
Access many eBooks online for research and pleasure.

Learning Express Library
Allows users to study and prepare for a variety of tests and exams as well as take tutorial courses and track progress over time.

Mango Languages
Teaches real conversations in over 60 languages through interactive testing, mobile apps, and film resources.

Masterfile Premier
Find a wide variety of periodicals and reference books covering general information, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and more.

Price It! Antiques & Collectibles
A research, identification, and pricing tool for antique lovers, collectors, dealers, appraisers and anyone in between.

Employment Resources & Adult Learning

A to Z Databases
Ideal for sales leads mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and accessing addresses and phone numbers.

Job & Career Accelerator
Access personalized job search assistance—from resume creation to improving work skills—for all levels of job seekers.

Learning Express Library
Allows users to study and prepare for a variety of tests and exams as well as take tutorial courses and track progress over time.

Mango Languages
Teaches real conversations in over 60 languages through interactive testing, mobile apps, and film resources.

Professional Development Collection

The most comprehensive collection of education journals in the world; includes peer-reviewed titles and educational reports.

Vocational and Career Collection    
Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public, this provides coverage for both trade and industry-related periodicals.

Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success
An interactive, self-paced learning resource for new or career-changing job seekers with job search and workplace skills, occupational training, basic literacy help, GED testing, and other professional licensing and aptitude tests.

Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition (Can only be accessed IN LIBRARY)
The world’s most popular genealogy collection—with census reports, city directories, public records, military records, immigration and naturalization records, and more.

Explore Ohio
Use this ever-expanding directory of Ohio-specific websites and links by category or by county for your research.

HeritageQuest
Conduct genealogy and historical research by searching census records, family and local histories, the PERSI archive, Revolutionary War records, Freedman’s Bank applications, and the U.S. Serial Set.

Johnstown Independent Directory
Search and browse online records of Johnstown, Ohio local newspapers from 1884-2007.

Newark Advocate
Access articles, obituaries, and more from 2002 to current issues from local newspaper, Newark Advocate.

NewsBank (Ohio Newspapers)
Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Includes coverage from the Columbus Dispatch.

Newspaper Archive (can only be accessed IN LIBRARY)
Explore the world’s largest historical newspaper archive, with newspaper pages from many newspapers, including the Newark Advocate, from 1607 to present.

Ohio Obituary Index
This resource provides an index to 3,000,000 obituaries, death & marriage notices & other sources from Ohio from the 1810s to the present day. Actual obituaries may be ordered from over 60 partner libraries.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Use to locate buildings and neighborhoods from 1867 to 1970 and study the growth of towns and cities.

Select Ohio Public Records Index
Browse Ohio Death Certificates and school records dating from 1858; photocopies of death certificates can be purchased online.

Health

AHFS Consumer Medication Information
Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, this covers over 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets available in both English and Spanish.

Alt HealthWatch 
Access peer-review journals, reports, and more on the many perspectives of complementary, alternative, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Consumer Health Complete
Browse medical, health-related and drug reference books, articles on health and fitness, and sources for alternative health information.

Health Source - Consumer Edition  
Provides information on the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
Find in-depth medical information from nearly 550 scholarly full text journals on many medical disciplines.

Medline Plus
Learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out definitions, or view medical videos, with information from the latest research and clinical trials on a disease or condition.

NetWellness
Search this non-profit consumer health web site for high quality information created and evaluated by medical and health professional faculty from several Ohio universities.

History & Biography

Biography Reference Bank
Find biographies, obituaries, and photographs of thousands of individuals from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books.

Explore Ohio
Use this ever-expanding directory of Ohio-specific websites and links by category or by county for your research.

Newspaper Archive (can only be accessed IN LIBRARY)
Explore the world’s largest historical newspaper archive, with newspaper pages from many newspapers, including the Newark Advocate, from 1607 to present.

Select Ohio Public Records Index
Browse Ohio Death Certificates and school records dating from 1858; photocopies of death certificates can be purchased online.

Ohio History Central
This evolving, dynamic online encyclopedia includes information about Ohio's natural history, prehistory, and history.

Ohio Memory Online Scrapbook
Ohio Memory is the collaborative digital library of the Ohio History Connection and the State Library of Ohio, which includes collections from more than 360 cultural heritage institutions from all of Ohio’s counties.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Use to locate buildings and neighborhoods from 1867 to 1970 and study the growth of towns and cities.

Magazines & Newspapers

EBSCOHost Databases
Search all EBSCOHost databases simultaneously for in-depth research, or limit to only a few resources to search at a time.

Johnstown Independent Directory
Search and browse online records of Johnstown, Ohio local newspapers from 1884-2007.

Masterfile Premier
Find a wide variety of periodicals and reference books covering general information, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and more.

New York Times
To access this newspaper, you must first register for a NYTimes account at any of the Licking County Library locations. After registering, you may have access on most devices to the NYTimes apps. See the New York Times Help page for more information.

Newark Advocate
Access articles, obituaries, and more from 2002 to current issues from local newspaper, Newark Advocate.

NewsBank (Ohio Newspapers)
Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Includes coverage from the Columbus Dispatch.

Newspaper Archive (can only be accessed IN LIBRARY)
Explore the world’s largest historical newspaper archive, with newspaper pages from many newspapers, including the Newark Advocate, from 1607 to present.

Newspaper Source
Read articles from newspapers around the U.S., including industry-specific newspapers and TV and radio news transcripts.

Points of View Reference Center
Shares resources that present multiple sides of an issue. Students can use these resources realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Reference & Research

Academic Search Premier
Offers articles from scholarly and academic magazines and periodicals - covering nearly every area of study.

EBSCOHost Databases
Search all EBSCOHost databases simultaneously for in-depth research, or limit to only a few resources to search at a time.

Explore Ohio
Use this ever-expanding directory of Ohio-specific websites and links by category or by county for your research.

Foundation Directory Online—Professional Edition (Can only be accessed IN LIBRARY)
An exhaustive resource for finding funding information from foundations, corporate donors, grants, and decision makers.

GreenFILE
Well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment with a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

MAS Ultra - School Edition
Access biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection from popular high school magazines and reference books for school research.

Ohio History Central
This evolving, dynamic online encyclopedia includes information about Ohio's natural history, prehistory, and history.

Oxford Reference Online  
Provides millions of entries from encyclopedias, companions, and dictionaries to aid with research in many subject areas.

Student Research Center 
Use for student research for grades 6 through 12 with many magazine and newspaper articles and encyclopedia entries, including country reports, maps, and photos.

WorldBook
This resource for students provides an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides in both English and Spanish.

Science

Computer Source
Find the latest information and current trends in high technology from over 450 publications.

Facts on File Science Online
Provides a comprehensive, curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines in a variety of useful formats. An ideal science solution for schools, libraries and homework assignments.

Ohioline – Your Ohio Link to Information, News, and Education
Access hundreds of factsheets, bulletins and other educational materials covering a wide array of subjects, such as agriculture, natural resources, family and consumer sciences, community development, and 4-H and youth.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Includes journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Science Reference Center
Contains hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources for student research in a variety of scientific topics.

Sociological Collection
Access journals in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Students & Homework

Kids Search
This research tool, with an encyclopedia, dictionary, and topic search, is helpful for middle school and elementary age student research.

Literary Reference Center
Gives access to literary journals, reference works, poems, short stories, book discussion help, and more.

Mango Languages
Teaches real conversations in over 60 languages through interactive testing, mobile apps, and film resources.

MAS Ultra - School Edition
Access biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection from popular high school magazines and reference books for school research.

Middle Search Plus
Access biographies, primary source documents, and images from popular middle school magazines, reference books for school research.

Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center shares resources that present multiple sides of an issue. Students can use these resources realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Primary Search
Use for elementary school research through popular magazines dating as far back as 1990.

Searchasaurus
This research tool for elementary age students contains an encyclopedia, dictionary, and information about different types of animals.

Student Research Center 
Use for student research for grades 6 through 12 with many magazine and newspaper articles and encyclopedia entries, including country reports, maps, and photos.

WorldBook
This resource for students provides an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides in both English and Spanish.